If you don’t want to use a particular email account with Microsoft Outlook, or if you want to close your Outlook account entirely, it’s easy to do so. We’ll show you how in this guide.
When you remove an email account, Outlook stops syncing new emails from that account. It also deletes the cached content of your email account such as emails and attachments. However, note that your original emails are retained with your email service.
If you want to delete your Outlook account permanently, you can do so by closing your Microsoft account, as we explain in this guide.
Remove an email account from the Outlook application
To get rid of an email account so you can’t see its emails, first, launch the Outlook application on your computer.
When Outlook opens, in the upper left corner, click “File.”
In the right pane, select Account Settings > Account Settings.
The “Account Settings” window will open. Here, click on the “Email” tab and select the email account to remove. Then, in the menu bar above the selected email account, click “Remove”.
If you are removing a single email account in Outlook, the application will prompt you to create a new data file.
To do so, in the “Account Settings” window, access the “Data Files” tab. Then, click “OK” then “Add” to create a new Outlook data file.
Return to the “Email” tab, select the email account to remove and select “Remove”.
You will see a warning message stating that your email account’s offline cached content will be deleted. This only affects the local copy of your account data on your computer; Your original data associated with your account is retained.
Continue by clicking “Yes”.
And you are ready. Outlook has removed the selected email account and you will no longer see its emails in the application. Enjoy!
Related: How to Delete Multiple Emails in Microsoft Outlook
Close Outlook (Microsoft) account permanently
If you want to delete your Outlook account permanently, you need to close your Microsoft account. Doing so will remove all data associated with your account, including emails, purchases and other items.
To proceed with it, go to our dedicated guide on how to delete Microsoft account. There, follow the steps to terminate your account. Once you do that, your account will be closed and you will no longer be able to access it.
And that’s how you declutter your Outlook app and say goodbye to your Outlook account forever!
Want to add a new email account to Outlook? If so, configuring this email client with any of your email accounts is easy.
Related: How to Set Up a POP3 or IMAP Account in Microsoft Outlook